Zero to One

*Disclaimer: I was looking through some old journals and found this poem. I don’t know what year I wrote it or even remember what triggered me to write it but thought it was too good and poignant to pass up.
 
If zero is a size 
Than that’s the size of my confidence.
I’m not smart enough to build a rocket.
Zero.
I’m not fast enough to win a race.
Zero.
I’m not good enough to be a professional dancer.
Zero.
I’m not cool enough to make new friends.
Zero.
 
But zero isn’t a size.
Zero shouldn’t even be a number.
Zero is nothing.
But I’m not nothing.
I’m someone.
 
I’m a daughter.
One.
I’m a friend.
One.
I’m a college student.
One.
I’m a dancer.
One.
I’m a dreamer.
One.
I am someone.
And all the things I am
Add up.
Inquiring minds want to know...what do you think?

