Where Have I Been?

I am so happy to be able to say that it is finally 2014. I have been absent from this blog as well as my youtube page for far too long and it’s time to finally reengage. But first, a bit of an explanation.

The last 4 months of 2013 were incredibly trying. I didn’t read a single book, or update my blogs via text posts or videos. I was forced to drop out of college and go on medical leave for an entire year. I then had to get a job to be able to pay for the medical bills I had acquired. Although most of my stress was over and dealt with by mid November, I was still unable to return to my book loving life. I was working almost 40 hours a week in retail, at the busiest time of the year. It was a crazy, yet amazing experience. I met so many great people and learned a lot about myself and my work ethic.

Unfortunately, I was only hired for the season, and I’m currently looking for a new job. This, of course, will pose some challenges right off the bat for 2014 but I’m excited none the less. I’ve signed up to take my first Crossfit class this Saturday and have already applied at a few places for a job.

I can already feel all the promise 2014 holds and all the incredible opportunities I will challenge myself to accept. This is going to be a year of firsts, as well as a year reconnecting with my true love (literature, duh).

So here are a few of my tentative goals for 2014:

  • actually complete my Goodreads goal of reading 50 books (I was only 7 books shy this year, drats)
  • update my blog at least once a month
  • make a video for my youtube channel at least once a month
  • finish writing my fanfiction
  • stick with crossfit (for as long as I can afford it)
  • remember to read, read, read
  • try and see the positive side of things and enjoy life

I’m not sure if anyone still comes over here and reads my old posts but I appreciate that so incredibly much. Thank you for all your support and lets welcome 2014 together with open arms.

What are your goals for 2014? Leave a comment below.

 

 

3 responses to “Where Have I Been?

  1. I’m sorry you had such a stressful past four months, but you inspire me with your tenacity and your ability to pick yourself up. Your goals sound magnificent and I look forward to reading more about what you read. Good luck with finding a new job and I hope 2014 works out for the best for you!

    Also, as for my goals, I still need to solidify them – this is the one year I’m not sure what my resolutions are. -_-

    • You have no idea how much your comment means to me. Thank you. I’m currently reading Seraphina and am very excited to post my review.

      I almost never have resolutions, so I guess we switched places on that issue this year. They’ll sort themselves out in time. =]

  2. Hey Sasha,
    I don’t know if there’s a way to private message on her but if there Is I would love to chat. My phone has been broken since over the summer and haven’t been able to talk to anyone. If you want to talk maybe email me or something. I’m glad your back in action, I have missed reading your post and watching your videos. My goals for this year are to graduate and reconnect with friends.

Inquiring minds want to know...what do you think?

