Mila 2.0 Review

Mila 2.0Title: Mila 2.0

Author: Debra Driza (Debut Author 2013)

Pages: 480

Format: Hardcover

Finished: 5/6/13

Source: Won @ Pitch Dark Books

ISBN: 9780062090362

 

Excerpt from Goodreads:

Mila 2.0 is the first book in an electrifying sci-fi thriller series about a teenage girl who discovers that she is an experiment in artificial intelligence.

Mila was never meant to learn the truth about her identity. She was a girl living with her mother in a small Minnesota town. She was supposed to forget her past—that she was built in a secret computer science lab and programmed to do things real people would never do.

Now she has no choice but to run—from the dangerous operatives who want her terminated because she knows too much and from a mysterious group that wants to capture her alive and unlock her advanced technology. However, what Mila’s becoming is beyond anyone’s imagination, including her own, and it just might save her life.

Mila 2.0 is Debra Driza’s bold debut and the first book in a Bourne Identity-style trilogy that combines heart-pounding action with a riveting exploration of what it really means to be human. Fans of I Am Number Four will love Mila for who she is and what she longs to be—and a cliffhanger ending will leave them breathlessly awaiting the sequel.

Initial Thoughts:

I knew that at some point during this year I would be reading this book because it was on the list for the Debut Author’s Challenge for 2013. If you haven’t already, you can sign up to participate in the challenge by clicking here.

I was lucky enough to win this book from Pitch Dark Days, a sub group of Epic Reads and Harper Collins Teen, and could not wait to start reading! I didn’t have many details on the premise of the book, but loved the cover and had heard enough positive buzz surrounding it that I couldn’t wait to get started.

Spoilers!

As I mentioned earlier, I wasn’t sure what to expect with this novel and was a little dismayed that it started off with insta-love. Now the relationship wasn’t poorly done, I could see the chemistry between the characters, but it came out of nowhere, literally. Honestly, I still don’t trust the male love interest, but hopefully my fears are just an overactive imagination and will be put to rest as the series continues.

Once Hunter (the male love interest) was out of the picture, the action, drama, and suspense really began. The fight sequences had really great detail and allowed me to visualize what was happening in the scenes. As the story progresses, Mila begins to uncover the truth, and with it she learns more about who what she truly is.

I thought it was such an interesting concept to be inside Mila’s head because she isn’t entirely human. Driza was able to make me feel all the emotions Mila felt, the heartbreak, realization, concern, fear, every emotion Mila struggled with I struggle with too. I thought it was incredible to be inside the head of a (SPOILER ALRET) android and really liked seeing the world through the eyes of something that was part machine and part human.

When Mila gets ‘taken’ to where she was created the story got even more intense. Mila starts having vivid yet incomplete flashbacks and we meet her ‘twins’. From here it was plot twist after plot twist, trying to figure out what was the truth, what was going to happen next, and whose team we should be on.

I really enjoyed the suspense in this novel and could not turn the pages fast enough. I thought the ending was held out a little too long but it does set up nicely for the sequel. Overall I was impressed with this novel and happy that it turned from typical, cliché girl meets boy, to tough, dangerous and suspenseful, android meets her maker.

Conclusion:

It’s hard to believe that this is Debra Driza’s first YA novel! It was put together so well, flowed with equal parts suspense and action, and left me ultimately wanting more of this world (and I’ll admit, I’m a little intrigued about the relationship and how that will turn out)! There are so many places this story could go and I cannot wait to see what will happen next. This book had a nice blend of normal teenage girl just trying to find her place in life, and sci-fi android on the run from the government.

I am so pleased that I got the opportunity to win this novel from Pitch Dark Days and can’t wait to see where Driza’s story and writing will develop in her upcoming novels.

Rating:

I loved it. four nerd glasses

 

Inquiring minds want to know...what do you think?

