Gates of Paradise Review

*This is the LAST book in the Blue Bloods Series. To see reviews for the other books in this series, please click on the corresponding book numbers. Book (#1) , (#2) , (#3) , (#4) , (#5) , (#6) .

Gates of ParadiseTitle: Gates of Paradise (#7)

Author: Melissa De La Cruz

Pages: 355

Format: Hardcover

Source: Bought on Amazon

Finished: 2/6/13

ISBN: 9781423157410

Excerpt from Goodreads:

Schuyler Van Alen is running out of time. The Dark Prince of Hell is storming the Gates of Paradise, intent on winning the heavenly throne for good. This time he has his greatest angels by his side, Abbadon and Azrael—Jack and Mimi Force, as they are known in the Coven.

Or so he thinks. Even as Lucifer assigns Jack and Mimi the tasks of killing their true loves, the Force twins secretly vow to defeat the Dark Prince once and for all. But how far will Mimi and Jack go to conceal their real loyalties?

Meanwhile, former vampire Bliss Llewellyn has joined forces with Lawson, the greatest wolf of the underworld, to free his people from their imprisonment in Hell. As they struggle against impossible odds, an ancient message, woven into the very fabric of time, reveals just how much depends on the success of their mission.

Lucifer seeks the key to the Gate of Promise, and when Schuyler is taken captive and delivered straight to Hell, she must make an unthinkable choice—the same one the archangel Michael was forced to make during the Crisis in Rome. Will Schuyler find the strength to do what he could not?

The epic, heartbreaking Blue Bloods series comes to a close with this final novel about staggering courage, unbearable sacrifice, and the immortality of true love.

Initial Thoughts:

It seems like all I’ve been reading lately are the last books in a series. Typical me, I put it off as long as possible.

Spoilers!

Throughout this series there have been so many different story lines which kept me interested and reading each new book. Cruz writes from the perspective of a few different characters in this book and for once I didn’t mind. By now I’ve come to love all the characters so much I genuinely wanted to hear their stories individually.

I did wish that I had read her spin off books, Wolf Pact and Witches of the East End before I read this last book so that I had some more background knowledge on the new characters we are introduced to.

To my displeasure, we don’t get to see a lot of Jack and Schuyler. I can only recall one or two scenes where they are together. However, Cruz made up for it with the scenes involving Bliss and her new wolf friend. I don’t want to say much more about this because I want you all to be as surprised (and slightly confused) as I was.  Another way Cruz makes up for the lack of Schuyler and Jack are the scenes with Mimi and Kingsley. I love the relationship these two characters have together, and they are put through some series tests in this last book.

The more I write about the different characters the more I realize how much I love them all. Of course I don’t want to leave out Oliver, who in my opinion has the coolest name in the series (Oliver Hazard-Perry). And oh my gosh! The ending for him is fabulous. I think I’ve secretly wanted that to happen for him since I started reading this series. Spot on Melissa De La Cruz. Spot on.

Like I mentioned earlier, each character is on a different mission but they all have the same goal in mind. The conclusion of this novel brought every story line together effortlessly and seamlessly. I really wasn’t sure how Cruz would tie up almost ten different character plots, but she made it work.

Did I cry reading the ending? Yes, yes I did. Did I cry reading the last four pages? You have no idea. I couldn’t have asked for a better ending to a series I’ve been a fan of since I was 15. I was and am so sad to see it go, but so happy for all the characters. I can’t wait to read the spin off series that have been created (as mentioned above).

Conclusion:

I definitely felt all the feels at the end of this book (series). I read the book in one sitting and enjoyed every second. Although I enjoyed this book, it wasn’t my favorite from this series. I claim in my review of Lost In Time (book #6) that it is my favorite book of the Blue Bloods series and after finishing Gates of Paradise that ruling stands.

In the beginning of the series, I absolutely hated Mimi Force. Now she is one of my favorite characters. She has developed and grown so much and I just…ekkk love her! The same is true for all the characters. They have all easily become my favorite, a phenomenon that I haven’t experienced since reading Harry Potter or The Inheritance Series. 

I would recommend this book only if you’ve read the other six. That’s a little end of the series humor for you. But seriously, I’d recommend this book to people who like vampires, and not your traditional vampires either, but vampires that cycle through lifetimes instead of retaining one body for eternity. I’d also suggest this book to someone who likes New York, fashion, traveling, some adventure and some pretty legit fight scenes.

Rating:

I loved it. four nerd glasses

Inquiring minds want to know...what do you think?

