As They Slip Away Review

As They Slip AwayTitle: As They Slip Away

Author: Beth Revis

Pages: 48

Format: Kindle ebook

Source: FREE @ Beth Revis’ Blog (click here)

Finished: 2/8/13

*Image can be found on Goodreads (link below)

Excerpt from Goodreads:

Taking place on the spaceship Godspeed before Amy Martin wakes up and Elder takes leadership, this novella describes life at the Hospital during Eldest’s reign. Focusing primarily on background characters, readers will see fan-favorite characters Harley, Orion, Victria, and more.

Selene is a singer on a spaceship that only values people who can provide important skills that enhance survival. As her friends–fellow “loons” in the Hospital–start to join apprenticeships to turn their skills into valuable labor, Selene is sent with a handful of other students to learn about the importance of art from the Recorder, Orion. The assignment pairs her with a young sculptor, Luthor, and their dangerous romance proves just how terrifying living trapped on a spaceship under the rule of a heartless dictator could be. 

This tragic tale explores the background of a previously unknown character, linking the history of the ship and its residents to Amy and Elder, giving depth to the world of Godspeed.

Initial Thoughts:

I made the mistake of trying to read this while watching the Superbowl  I had no idea what was going on (in the novella) but then I started over from the beginning yesterday and everything made sense. Note to self, stop trying to multitask during the Superbowl.

Spoilers!

This novella was SHORT! I mean 48 pages, come on that’s not even 1/8th of Across The Universe. What I found remarkable about this novella was that despite its length, it still had a very prominent story arc. This story follows Selene, a patient in the hospital ward. We get an exclusive look at my favorite character Harley and his girlfriend and other characters in the hospital ward, most memorable (for all the wrong reasons) is Luther.

If you’ve read the Across The Universe Series you already know the fate of poor Selene. This novella follows her life leading up to the tragic events that take place.

I’m not sure how many feelings I have towards this novella, simply because it was so short. Was it nice to get a background look at the secondary characters, yes of course, but could I have lived without it and still loved the series as much as I already do? Sadly the answer is yes. This novella was ‘okay’ and ‘I liked it’ (Goodreads rating standards for 2 or 3 stars) but beyond that, I’ve got nothing.

Conclusion:

I think fans of the series will no doubt enjoy this novella, because don’t get me wrong I did enjoy it. However, I didn’t enjoy it on the same level that I enjoyed the books. I do hope that we will see more novella’s from Beth Revis in the future, especially if they contain Amy and Elder on the new earth!

Rating:

I liked it but...three nerd glasses

 

Inquiring minds want to know...what do you think?

