Shades of Earth Review

This is the last book in the Across the Universe series. To see my reviews for Across the Universe (#1) click here or A Million Suns (#2) click here.

Shades of EarthTitle: Shades of Earth

Author: Beth Revis

Pages: 369

Format: Hardcover

Source: Bought on Amazon

Finished: 1/27/13

ISBN: 9781595143990

Excerpt from Goodreads:

The final book in the  New York Times bestselling trilogy, perfect for fans of Battlestar Galactica and Prometheus!

Amy and Elder have finally left the oppressive walls of the spaceshipGodspeed behind. They’re ready to start life afresh–to build a home–on Centauri-Earth, the planet that Amy has traveled 25 trillion miles across the universe to experience.

But this new Earth isn’t the paradise Amy had been hoping for. There are giant pterodactyl-like birds, purple flowers with mind-numbing toxins, and mysterious, unexplained ruins that hold more secrets than their stone walls first let on. The biggest secret of all? Godspeed’s former passengers aren’t alone on this planet. And if they’re going to stay, they’ll have to fight.

Amy and Elder must race to discover who–or what–else is out there if they are to have any hope of saving their struggling colony and building a future together. They will have to look inward to the very core of what makes them human on this, their most harrowing journey yet. Because if the colony collapses? Then everything they have sacrificed–friends, family, life on Earth–will have been for nothing.

FUELED BY LIES.
RULED BY CHAOS.
ALMOST HOME.

Initial Thoughts:

I was so excited to read this book. Like I tell everyone, I fell in love with the cover of Across the Universe and initially only picked this series up because of my own vanity of wanting to own pretty books. Thankfully, Beth Revis is a genius and this series absolutely blew my mind. I put off reading this book for a week after I got it and read it as slowly as possible. I was really dreading seeing this book and series end.

Spoilers!

If you haven’t read the first two books, please don’t ruin it for yourself by reading this section. Skip down to the conclusion or rating.

For those of you still with me, this book BLEW my mind. I forgot how scary and suspenseful Revis’ writing can be. I figured out pretty early on that I couldn’t read this book before I was going to bed. That’s not to say that it’s super scary, I’m just a bit of a sissy when it comes to that stuff. I wasn’t put off by the suspense at all and it kept me reading at a pretty fast pace, even though I was trying to read as slowly as possible to stay with the story longer.

The writing and the pacing of this book have grown substantially since the last two. Beth Revis’ writing was so superb when explaining the new earth, the monsters, and the landscape that I could see everything vividly in my head. If I could draw, I think I’d have no problem drawing out a very detailed map of the world. The pacing was amazing, for lack of a better word. I’ve never seen or read anything quite like it. Revis knows exactly how long a chapter should be based on her characters, which I think is incredible. And those blank pages…let’s just say I forced myself not to believe it, otherwise I would’ve cried and thrown the book down without finishing it. Keep reading! Trust me.

Amy and Elder. Our two heroes. They come across some serious, and I mean SERIOUS obstacles in this book as well as some serious romance, if you call trying not to get killed every day together romantic. Like in the last two, it starts off as a type of murder mystery, which leads to them both uncovering amazing and devastating truths. I will say that some of the clues I picked up on from the get go, however, I wasn’t sure how they would play out so I didn’t feel like I knew how the plot would unfold.

As the last book in the series, I was extremely pleased (which may be an understatement). I felt like all the loose ends were tied up just the way they should be and I loved loved LOVED how it ended. I squealed audibly when I closed it and got a few strange looks from my Dad.

Conclusion:

If you haven’t picked up any books in the Across the Universe series what the heck are you waiting for? The growth of the characters over the three novels is astounding, as is the growth of Beth’s writing, plot, and world building. I would recommend this book to literally anyone, unless you seriously dislike space travel, but come on, who dislikes space travel?

I loved these characters and their stories and I’m really sad to see them go. I am such a big fan of Beth Revis now and I’ll probably read anything else she ever writes, it’s that good. She has such a unique, bright, and vivid imagination and we’re all just lucky that she also happens to be a great writer so she can share her worlds with us.

Rating:

what just happened five nerd glasses

Advertisements

4 responses to “Shades of Earth Review

  1. I freakin love this series oh my goodness. Let’s fangirl together lol! Her writing is so amazing, and I agree how scary Shades of Earth was. My favorite book out of the three books though is A Million Suns, then Across the Universe, and then Shades of Earth. I just didn’t like how Amy was on this book. I didn’t like the romance either. Still an awesome book though! Nice review 🙂

    Leigh
    Little Book Star

    • Yes! It’s so great and unlike anything I’ve read before. I agree the romance aspect at times was not always agreeable but Shade of Earth is my favorite because I felt like Revis’ writing got so exponentially better throughout the series and it just capped off right at the last book. I was blown away by the story, the suspense, and the scary creatures. Such a cool twist. I’ll always have a special place in my hear for Across the Universe though, since it was what got me into the series. I always feel so claustrophobic just thinking about that book. lol I’ve actually convinced a few of my friends to pick up the series and for the most part, they really liked it as well. =]

      • I agree her writing just kept getting better and better throughout the trilogy! I really hope they make a movie adaptation of the books. What do you think of the Shades of Earth ending? I feel like it didn’t really end you know? There’s a chance of a continuation.

      • I’d love to see a movie adaptation and I felt the same way with the ending. I thought it gave it just the right amount of closure for me to move on happily from the story, but left it open enough for our imaginations to continue it how we would want to.

Inquiring minds want to know...what do you think?

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s