Sporadic Book Haul #11

sporadic-book-hauls

Okay guys. This is the last one for a LONG TIME! I pinky promise!!!!

Thanks to the Amazon Trade-In program, Netgalley, and a new local used bookstore, I was able to get 11 books this week! 11 books for Sporadic Book Haul #11. It’s meant to be!

Before we get to the haul I got something almost more exciting than books themselves in the mail. A big thank you to Veronica Rossi author of Under The Never Sky, Through The Ever Night, and Roar and Liv, for sending me her autograph, a bookmark, and a super sweet tattoo!

Veronica Rossi Swag

Left and middle: The front and back of my awesome TTEN and UTNS bookmark. Top right: envelope stamp. Middle right: Veronica Rossi signature. Bottom right: Under The Never Sky tattoo (that’s why the words are mirrored).

Now for the book haul, beginning with the Amazon Trade-In. If you were not aware, don’t feel bad, I just found out myself a few months ago, but Amazon will take your old used textbooks and books and give you credit to buy other things on Amazon. I recently traded in a few old math books and was able to get these books with the money I was credited.

Once I finish a book I’ll add a link to the review. Try clicking on the book covers to see if there is a review available.

A Song of Ice and Fire, Books 1-4 Box Set By George R.R. Martin

A Game of Thrones, A Feast for Crows, A Storm of Swords, Clash of Kings

A Song Of Ice and Fire Box Set

The Hobbit By J.R.R. Tolkien

The Hobbit

Clockwork Angel By Cassandra Clare

Clockwork Angel

I have heard nothing but amazing things about the George R.R. Martin books and I cannot wait to get the chance to read them. I’ve been dying to watch the T.V. series but won’t let myself until I read the books. I’ve also always been a huge fan of Lord of The Rings but sadly never actually read a J.R.R. Tolkien novel before, I just relied on the movies. Now that I’m older, I really want to read The Hobbit before seeing the movie. Cassandra Clare, in my eyes, is somewhat of a controversial author due to her Harry Potter type fan fiction. As a gargantuan Harry Potter fanatic, I was super skeptical about reading her books, but after reading a review from a blogger (I can’t remember who it was or I’d post your link) I decided to give it a try.

Next, we have a few books from a local used bookstore that my friend Julie told me about (Thanks again!!!). It’s called Bright Light Books and it is amazing! I’d go there everyday if I could and all the costumers were so nice. If I picked up a book the person next to me would say whether they liked it or not, so sweet. I got four amazing books and only spent about $16.

Once I finish a book I’ll add a link to the review. Try clicking on the book covers to see if there is a review available.

Speak By Laurie Halse Anderson

Speak

Tess of the D’Urbervilles By Thomas Hardy

Tess of the D'Urbervilles

Eon By Alison Goodman

Eon

Daughter of Smoke and Bone By Laini Taylor

Daughter of Smoke and Bone

I was so excited when I found these books. They’ve all been on my TBR list for the longest time and probably wouldn’t have been bought if I hadn’t found them so cheap. I’m really excited to add them to my collection and to start reading them as soon as possible. My dad, Joe from Reading Again: Guest Reviews came with me and he got three new books. We’ve decided we’re going to make monthly trips to our new favorite bookstore.

I’d also like to mention an amazing book I got from my best friend for Christmas. It combines all of my favorite things into one, reading, writing, dancing, and photography. I just about fell over when I got it, but I was sitting in a car and buckled to a seat so I remained upright, thank goodness.

Dancers Among Us By Jordan Matter

dancers among us

I’ve looked through all the pictures but haven’t actually got around to reading it yet and I HIGHLY recommend it. Seriously, if you love dance or photography get it immediately, it is absolutely beautiful. Thanks again Shelby! Best gift ever!

And last but certainly not least my Kindle books! This week I’m soooo happy to announce that I got my FIRST ARC from NetGalley! I could hardly believe it when I saw the email.

Once I finish a book I’ll add a link to the review. Try clicking on the book covers to see if there is a review available.

*This book cover image can be found on Goodreads.

Out of Nowhere By Maria Padian

Out of Nowhere

I’m incredibly excited to be reading my first Arc and will be moving it to the top of my list, which means fitting it in between all the books I’m currently reading for school.

I hope you guys enjoyed this weeks Sporadic Book Haul. I’m pretty sure this is the last one for a while (deja vu…didn’t I say that last time?). I can’t help it, I’m addicted. Anyways, as always Happy Reading! 

I’d also like to note that I’m NOT made of money. I’ve been getting a lot of questions lately about how I can afford all of these books so here’s a little math for you. Bargain shopping is AMAZING. Right now Barnes and Noble has a deal, buy 2 classics get the 3rd free. If you spend $25 dollars it’s free shipping as well. Most of the classics are $5 and up, so you could reasonably get 6 or more books for only $25. Yay math used for reading!

Bought at Amazon:

A Song of Ice and Fire Books 1-4 Box Set $20.84

Clockwork Angel $8.60

The Hobbit $8.49

I also bought a cover for my kindle which was $12.99

Discount from Amazon Trade In -$49.98

Total spent on Amazon: $0.94

Bought at BrightLightBooks:

Speak $1.00

Tess of D’Urbervilles $1.00

Eon $4.99

Daughter of Smoke and Bone $7.99

Total spent at BrightLightBooks: $14.98

6 responses to “Sporadic Book Haul #11

  1. Clockwork Angel and Speak are both extraordinary reads! I’ve also heard great things about A Song of Ice and Fire, Tess, and Daughter of Smoke and Bone – although I am envious of your recent additions, I’m looking forward to reading your reviews as well.

    • I wasn’t sure about getting Speak, but I’ve heard so many great things about it and for the price, it was a no brainer. I’m so glad you liked it. I’m trying to organize and make schedules for reading and reviews but it’s probably going to be a while before I can read all the books I got in my hauls as well as the books I’m required for school. Sigh. At least my bookshelf looks nice in the meantime. haha =D

    • I loved Under The Never Sky and Through The Ever Night. Aria and Perry are my favorite YA couple right now. lol I’m really excited to see what all the hype is behind Cassandra Clare and both her series. =]

  2. Wow, that’s a lot of books. I’m envious 😦 Ooh and I absolutely LOVED Daughter of Smoke and Bone- it’s one of my favourite books! Hahaha enoy reading! 🙂

Inquiring minds want to know...what do you think?

