Roar and Liv Review

Roar and LivTitle: Roar and Liv

Author: Veronica Rossi

Pages: 68

Format: Kindle book

Source: bought on Amazon

Finished: 1/13/12

ISBN: 9780062239556

Image & Excerpt from Goodreads:

Before Perry and Aria, there was Roar and Liv.

After a childhood spent wandering the borderlands, Roar finally feels like he has a home with the Tides. His best friend Perry is like a brother to him, and Perry’s sister, Liv, is the love of his life. But Perry and Liv’s unpredictable older brother, Vale, is the Blood Lord of the Tides, and he has never looked kindly on Roar and Liv’s union. Normally, Roar couldn’t care less about Vale’s opinion. But with food running low and conditions worsening every day, Vale’s leadership is more vital—and more brutal—than ever. Desperate to protect his tribe, Vale makes a decision that will shatter the life Roar knew and change the fate of the Tides forever.

Set in the harsh but often beautiful world of Veronica Rossi’s “unforgettable” Under the Never Sky (Examiner.com), this captivating prequel novella stands on its own for new readers and offers series fans a fascinating look into the character of Roar. Poignant and powerful, Roar and Liv is a love story that will “capture your imagination and your heart.” (Justine on Under the Never Sky)

Initial Thoughts:

I knew I was excited to read this novella when I first heard about it but I didn’t expect to have such a positive experience with such a short piece of work. I guess this just proves, again, how amazing Veronica Rossi is.

Spoilers!

If you’ve already read Under The Never Sky you have a pretty good idea of what’s going on in Roar and Liv. However, this story comes before UTNS and it focuses mainly on the love and struggles of, well, Roar and Liv.

What I loved about this short story was not its length (GIVE ME MORE!!!!!) but the fact that we get a better look inside Roar’s character and a unique opportunity to learn more about Perry before he met Aria. You also get to see how evil Vale really is and what a complete JERK he is to everyone. Roar seems to be the only person who completely understands Vale’s motives and he’s the only one who will stand up to him.

It was so nice to see Roar and Liv’s relationship, even though it was so brief. In many ways I wish this had been a whole book, about Roar, Liv and Perry before Aria so that we could see more of Roar and Liv’s true relationship, but for now I’ll have to settle with little snippets into Roar’s heart.

Conclusion:

I wish it had been longer…have I already mentioned that? This novella was only $2.99 on Amazon and I was dying to get it. I can’t decide whether, for the money, it was worth it but I have to keep in mind that it was released in October and it had the first two chapters to Through The Ever Night. I guess that counts as a pretty hot commodity. 

If you’re a true fan of the series and of Veronica Rossi, I highly recommend it. It made my heart squeeze and made my love for the characters grow and grow.

Rating:

I loved it. four nerd glasses

Inquiring minds want to know...what do you think?

