Hidden By Sophie Jordan Review

This is the 3rd book in the Firelight Series. You can find my review of Firelight (#1) here or Vanished (#2) here.

Hidden Sophie JordanTitle: Hidden

Author: Sophie Jordan

Pages: 264

Format: Hardcover

Source: Bought from Amazon.com

Finished: 1/5/12

ISBN:  9780061935121

 

Excerpt from Goodreads:

Jacinda was supposed to bond with Cassian, the “prince” of their pride. But she resisted long before she fell in love with Will—a human and, worse, a hunter. When she ran away with Will, it ended in disaster, with Cassian’s sister, Miram, captured. Weighed down by guilt, Jacinda knows she must rescue her to set things right. Yet to do so she will have to venture deep into the heart of enemy territory.

The only way Jacinda can reach Miram is by posing as a prisoner herself, though once she assumes that disguise, things quickly spiral out of her control. As she learns more about her captors, she realizes that even if Will and Cassian can carry out their part of the plan, there’s no guarantee they’ll all make it out alive. But what Jacinda never could have foreseen is that escaping would be only the beginning….

Loyalties are tested and sacrifices made in the explosive conclusion to Sophie Jordan’s Firelight trilogy.

 

Initial Thoughts:

I was so excited to start reading Hidden but I was also apprehensive and sad. Reading the last book in a trilogy is always bittersweet and I knew reading the end of the Firelight series would be no different. I was really happy to see that the cover was the most gorgeous one yet, since that is why I originally started reading Firelight. I don’t know how many times I’ll say this, but I am the biggest sucker for a gorgeous cover.

Spoilers!

From the moment this book began, it was action packed! There were escapes, chases, being being captured or killed or injured, up until the last few chapters. I loved how fast paced this book was, but I did feel like some of the regular character interaction and development was missing. I guess since this is the third book, we should know the characters by now, but I still wish there had been a nicer balance between the action sequences and the actual, meaningful dialogue between characters. We didn’t learn anything new about the old characters and we didn’t learn anything new about the new characters either.

Speaking of new characters, Deghan is introduced as a new draki. What I don’t understand (though perhaps I missed this tidbit of information in the previous books) is why he’s so young when Jacinda keeps going on about how old and ancient he must be. I understand that the draki’s don’t age the same, but there were discrepancies in the way Deghan and his age were described throughout this novel.

What I really missed this time around, was Cassian. Through his and Jacinda’s bonding we get to know how he’s feeling but there are few interactions with him. The most they speak in the whole book comes at the end, and seeing as I was team Cassian I was somewhat upset by this. However, I did (sort of) come to terms with the fact that Will is a pretty good match for Jacinda…I guess.

Personally, I was hoping the book would end around chapter 23 or 24.  I would go into detail but I don’t want to give too much away, so you’ll have to read the book and then decide if you agree with me. I did love the fact that Jacinda has the right to choose her own life at the end of the novel, something she’d been struggling with and simply hadn’t had from the very beginning. I understand why the book ended the way it did and don’t get me wrong, I agree with the ending and I really was happy for the characters, I just thought chapter 23 would’ve been a happier ending. I’m turning into a sap, I know.

Conclusion:

So far in my review I haven’t said too many good things have I? Don’t get me wrong, I loved this book. I think I was extra knit picky because I’ve been so invested in this story. The more I like something, the bigger my opinions and arguments get. I secretly hope that Sophie Jordan will continue this series, perhaps from a different characters point of view. I’m really interested to see what will happen to Cassian (obviously) but also what will happen to Tamra and Deghan and what Jacinda and Will ultimately decide to do.

I think I’m somewhat in denial that this series is over, but I can’t wait to sit down and read all three books back to back and see how that changes the story. I love dragons and I love the take Sophie Jordan had when she created her draki. I am so pleased that I found this series and I can’t wait to read more of Jordan’s writing.

Rating:

I loved it. four nerd glasses

Inquiring minds want to know...what do you think?

