Fun End Of The Year Announcements!

 

happy new year

I’m pretty sure that everyone is aware of this, but in case you weren’t informed, today is the last day of 2012.

What does that mean for me? Well I’m glad you asked! It means that it’s time to see my progress on my 100 Books in 1 year challenge by Goodreads.

Unfortunately, I didn’t quite meet my goal. Okay, that’s a total understatement. In the year 2012 I read approximately 28 books. I’m sure other bloggers who read this will think I’m a total slacker (or maybe not, they all seem genuinely nice). I didn’t realize how taxing this year would be for me. I graduated from my community college in the spring and transferred to a University this past fall. I also didn’t realize how hard it is to keep up to date with my blog. I always felt extremely guilty if I didn’t have time to read a book or write the review so I’d avoid my blog (for weeks at a time) until I finally got the courage up to come back and get the show on the road.

I’m going to participate in the Goodreads challenge again for 2013. This time, I’m going to be a little more realistic with my goals. This spring I’ll be taking 5 classes, over the summer I’ll be taking 2-3 classes, and in the fall I’ll be taking 5 classes again. I figure that in and of itself will be about 20 books I can review (yay for being an English Lit major!). Anyway, back to the point. In 2013, my goal is to read at least 50 books. I think I’m well on my way to accomplishing that goal, what with the pile of books sitting on the living room table and a shopping cart full of books just waiting to be ordered on Amazon. 

And now for some really exciting news. Since I’ve been back and reading and reviewing pretty regularly, I found out that my rating system of 1-5 stars was just not cutting it. It felt impersonal and didn’t clearly convey how I felt about the book.

In an attempt to spice up my blog and help my reviews stand out (just keeping it real) I decided to make my own ratings. I came up with the ‘quotes’ and made everything on paint (that obscure microsoft program we all played around with years ago), even the picture of the nerd glasses are mine. So from here on out I will be giving the books I review a rating level in terms of nerd glasses.

Let me explain.

This is the first rating, receiving a rating of only 1/2 of a nerd glasses. This would be applied to books that I couldn’t get myself to finish.  I felt like a rating of zero was too harsh, because let’s be honest, every person isn’t going to like every book. Which is why I added in the quote, “But hey, you might.” 

eh couldn't fnish it half nerd glasses

 

This rating pains me. You know the feeling. You’ve been waiting for x amount of months for this book to be released. You finally get a chance to read it and: it sucked, you hated it, it was boring, your favorite characters die, what was the author thinking? This rating applies to books I lost faith in after reading. It receives the lowest rating I will give to a book if I was able to complete it. 2 nerd glasses. 

disappointed, didn't live up to the hype. two nerd glasses

I wasn’t sure what the reaction would be to this rating. This rating of 3 nerd glasses would go to a book that I enjoyed reading. I liked the characters, liked the plot, I liked the book, but I probably won’t read it again. Some books are only meant to be read once…right?

I liked it but...three nerd glasses

This rating warms my heart and empties my wallet! A rating of 4 nerd glasses means if I have the financial ability to buy the book I will, IMMEDIATELY! It’s a book I plan on reading again and again and a book I just can’t live without. I love nothing more than finding a special place on my bookshelf for new books, like welcoming home new lifelong friends. 

I loved it. four nerd glasses

Ah, at last. The coveted 5 nerd glasses rating. I created this rating last night after reading Under The Never Sky. I was absolutely blown away by that book and kept asking myself: “What just happened” and repeating “It was AMAZING!”. I then stayed up for another hour reading countless other reviews from different bloggers on the same book. I just couldn’t get enough! This rating is reserved for books I’m obsessed with, books that left me breathless, and books that left me dying for more. 

what just happened five nerd glasses

Well, that covers it for my announcements of 2012. I wanted to take a moment and thank all the people who follow my blog, but especially my family. My Uncle Tim was the first person to follow my blog, along with my Dad, Mom, and Grandparents. The fact that you support me and my love of books and reading makes me so happy and grateful to have you all in my life.

I’d also like to thank the people I don’t know who comment and like my posts. The interaction with you all is something I truly cherish and look forward to every day.

I can’t wait to see what 2013 has to offer, but I’m even more excited to be going on this journey with all of you.

Happy New Year! =]

Sasha, akamissfierce

Inquiring minds want to know...what do you think?

