Book Haul: School Edition Part 1

It’s that time of year again. Christmas is over, newly unwrapped presents are put away, and school books are being ordered.

As a self-proclaimed nerd, I’ve always enjoyed getting new textbooks, even for subjects I wasn’t fond of. This semester, I’ve finally nailed down my elusive major. After changing it three times, I’ve finally decided on English Literature. That seems like a no brainer right? I was so excited to order my books for my new literature classes that I logged onto Amazon the day after Christmas to see what I would be reading this Spring.

This is Part 1 of my Book Haul: School Edition. So far I have 8/12 of my required books.

School haul part one

*Try clicking on the book titles to see if a review is available. 

Lord of  the Flies By William Golding

The Hunger Games By Suzane Collins

Mother Night By Kurt Vonnegut

Regeneration By Pat Barker

Baghdad Burning By Riverbend

Literary Criticism By Charles Bressler

The Longman Anthology of World Literature, Volume I (A,B,C) By David Damrosch

Thankfully, I already own and have read The Hunger Games so that’s one less thing to worry about, but I will probably read it again when I have to read it for class.

I’m going to be taking five classes this semester,the most classes I’ve ever taken in college at once, and I’m really excited and nervous about the workload. I’m already scheming and planning in my head how I’ll keep my blog going. I’m definitely going to be writing reviews for the books I’m reading for class, with the exception of the last two books on the list because those are more in the textbook category.

There will be a regular Sporadic Book Haul in the next few weeks once I spend some Christmas money. As I’m sure you know January 2013 is a big month for new releases among the YA community. The books I’m looking forward to getting include:

Shades of Earth By Beth Revis

and

Gates of Paradise By Melissa De La Cruz

If you know of any other great YA books or any books being released in January feel free to leave your love and praises for them in the comments. Whenever I get the rest of my school books in I’ll be sure to have a Part 2.

I hope you all had a happy holiday and are as excited as I am for the New Year!

Inquiring minds want to know...what do you think?

