Hidden (A House Of Night Novel) Review

Title: Hidden

Author: P.C. & Kristin Cast

Pages: 320

Format: Hardcover

Finished: 10/17/12

Source: Pre-ordered from Amazon

ISBN: 9780312594428

Excerpt from Goodreads:

 

Neferet’s true nature has been revealed to the Vampyre High Council, so Zoey and the gang might finally get some help in defending themselves and their beloved school against a gathering evil that grows stronger every day. And they’ll need it, because Neferet’s not going down without a fight. Chaos reigns at the House of Night.

Initial Thoughts:

I’ve been with this series for almost five years now and it’s in my Top 5 favorite young adult series list. Just like with The Blue Bloods series (by Melissa De La Cruz), not every book is spectacular. Some are only necessary to provide information to the reader but they do little to help or advance the overall plot. Being the 10th novel in the House Of Night Series, I was excited to see if this would be an information filler or an all plot and action book. Sadly, I think this novel falls into a new, third category which stands for unnecessary.

It pains me to say that because I’ve waited so long for each book to come out every year and obviously waiting for a conclusion to this story. I think the authors made an unrealistic deal with publishers or agents to produce a series with way too many books. The quantity of this series is killing the quality of the story and of the storytelling. The stories are now becoming sloppy because the authors trying to stretch it out to the point where it is unrecognizable.

Spoilers!

This novel focuses on outing Neferet, Aurox choosing sides, and Zoey attempting (yet again) to save someone she loves. I was extremely disappointed with this novel because I wanted the story to move forward, to make some sort of progress. I wanted this big battle that 9 books have been hinting at and leading up to. Instead I got a melodramatic, unimportant and anticlimactic story about Zoey saving someone (for the umpteenth time). The story ‘might’ have been more effective and had more relevance if the person who was kidnapped had died, but it ended with a happily ever after. So…what was the point of this novel if everything is fine in the end?

Another thing that stood out to me is that I was unsympathetic to the characters. I felt little or no connection to them and I didn’t route them on. I can’t say that I wouldn’t have care if they died, but I didn’t particularly cared if they lived either. There was no suspense or game changing move made by anyone, except maybe Aurox…maybe. Speaking of Aurox, this novel was a build up to the reveal of his ‘true’ identity but, Hello! The readers already know who Aurox really is. The authors told us a few books ago when Aurox was created. How can you build an entire novel on a climactic event the audience already knows about?

Conclusion: 

I’m ususally not this cynical after reading a book but this one seemed to push all my buttons the wrong way. Perhaps if I had reread the other nine books before this one (but really, who has time to do that?) maybe I would’ve been more compassionate and in tune with the characters. As a huge fan of this series I feel like the authors as well as the characters let me down. I hope the last books in the series will get straight to the point and tie up whatever loose ends are left and do it quickly. Stop dragging out an inevitable end and make me forget about Hidden. Let’s all just pretend it didn’t happen.

Rating: 2/5 stars

Inquiring minds want to know...what do you think?

