Jeremy Chikalto and Leviathan Island Review

 Title: Jeremy Chikalto and Leviathan Island

Author: T.S. DeBrosse

Pages: 210

Format: Paperback

Finished: 10/10/12

Source: Received a copy from the author.

ISBN:  9780615662992

Excerpt from Goodreads:

Apollyon, the Angel of the Bottomless Pit, is being hounded by demons. After returning to Earth, Jeremy and Maren take a trip to Leviathan Island where two love triangles collide in the Bermuda Triangle. Will they find romance–or the green-eyed monster?
Follow the Haze-crossed lovers as they jump out of the frying pan and into the submarine, pay a heavy price for the company of a hermit, and discover whether the devil they know is better than the ones they don’t. Prepare for the pending Apocalypse and watch prophesy unravel in this thrilling sequel to Jeremy Chikalto and The Hazy Souls.

Initial Thoughts:

I wasn’t a huge fan of this series after reading the first book Jeremy Chikalto and the Hazy Souls but after reading this second installment of the Hazy Souls series I’m officially a fan. More specifically, I’m a fan of the main character Jeremy. I got a much better sense of who Jeremy is and what role he plays in this novel. In the first book of the series I liked Jeremy, but now I feel a strong connection and attachment to him. I find myself worrying about his well being throughout the novel and hoping he gets the attention he wants from Maren (the main female character).

I also enjoyed the pace of this novel. It moved along effortlessly and I found myself unable to put it down. I read the novel in two sittings reading roughly 100 pages at a time without even realizing it.

Spoilers!

This novel takes place mostly in the Haze and on Earth. There were plot twists in almost every chapter, each one as unexpected as the last. I honestly never knew what was going to happen and I’m normally the kind of reader who can guess (sometimes before I even read the first page) what is going to happen.

There were a few points or scenes in the novel that I felt were unrealistic or unbelievable. Obviously this is a story of fiction, but the elements of fiction must remain believable. A few moments that stood out in particular include teenagers flying a plane, was the island a resort and did Jeremy let Maren in on the secret or his plan, and how does Maren know Latin? If those few scenes had a little more background information or extra dialogue I think it would have worked better and been easier to accept as being possible.

I really liked that the general theme or motif for this book was the demons. The last line of the novel was my favorite part of the entire thing and it made me appreciate the whole story and plot of this book even more. It made me go back and reanalyze all the things I’d just read to try and figure out if that had been hinted at all along. The last line is my favorite part of the whole series so far, besides all of the scenes where Jeremy dances but that’s just me and I’m biased (I’m a dancer).

Another great aspect of this book was the addition of new characters. Maren visits her old friends from Earth where we meet her two best friends and the guy she almost dated, Mitch. As a reader, I wanted to feel the same way about Mitch as Maren so I could be angry at Jeremy too and so that I could understand why she struggled so much in choosing between the two guys. Instead I found myself on Team Jeremy from the very first line Mitch is mentioned and I felt more and more distant to Maren.

I mentioned in my first review that I liked the religious aspects in Book 1 and I do like them in this book as well. However I felt like they were at some points excessive. The sections where Maren is reciting the bible, while being pivotal in showing how she coped with the death of her Mother, lost me at times and it didn’t add anything to the story.

Conclusion:

This was a fantastic second novel from T.S. DeBrosse and I can’t wait to watch as her writing style and plot line progress, change, and grow into the next novel. I’m excited to learn more about Jeremy and his demons (literally and figuratively) and I want to know how his relationship will be with Maren if and when they get out of the Haze. I have to say, I think Jeremy is one of my favorite male characters in young adult fiction right now. He’s so cocky yet has a secret innocent side too that is so endearing. After reading the second book, I would recommend Jeremy Chikalto to fellow young adult readers, especially if you want a story unlike anything else out there.

Rating: 3.5/5 Stars

Inquiring minds want to know...what do you think?

