Jeremy Chikalto and the Hazy Souls Review

I’d like to start off by saying that I believe this is T. S. Debrosse’s debut novel and I won this novel for free at Freado (yay!).

Alright let’s see here…I have mixed feelings about this novel. Because of those feelings, I’m going to categorize my review into things I liked and the things I didn’t like. Please remember that I try to judge books and authors fairly and honestly.

Things I did not like:

  • Debut author- At times during the novel I felt like Debrosse was trying to find her writing voice and solidify her writing style. The story felt a little all over the place and the plot at times was unclear. Of course this could have been done on purpose, but I felt this novel lacked a sort of finesse and flow that more experienced authors have.
  • Detail oriented- This is something that bugs me with all authors, I think I mentioned this in my review of Anne Rice, but it drives me crazy when authors take a long time explain something obscure that isn’t drastically relevant to the plot and then skimming over the good stuff, like a fight scene. Know when to use details and when to let the reader imagine the scene, don’t always spell everything out, but fights and action sequences are hard for a reader to envision when you alone know your characters and who would be where and who would parry and who would strike first and so on.
  • Plot- I’ve already said that it was a little too all over the place, but that’s not a huge downer for me, it’s just mentionable. I think Debrosse had so many ideas that she just packed them all into this series instead of saving some aspects and using them in her next books.
Things I did like:
  • It was so different! For me, being a reader of mostly generic young adult fiction, this book was a breath of fresh air! I had no idea who the characters where or what was going on half the time and I loved that! Typically I can acclimate myself pretty well to any YA book because they all have the same general outline or formula, but this was crazy new. The concept behind this piece was incredible and I literally have no idea what will happen next.
  • The main character, Jeremy. It was amazing to see Debrosse create a protagonist with a chauvinistic, antagonistic attitude, and on top of that, make the reader cheer him on!
  • The concept. I loved the concept of the different planets and worlds and space travel. I loved the concept of the Haze itself and all the religious aspects mixed in.

I think Debrosse is a promising new author and with time, I’ll grow to love not only her outrageous plots but also her writing style. Would I recommend this book to others? I’m not entirely sure. I’m glad I got the chance to read it, but it’s definitely not going to be everyone’s cup of tea. My advice is to get a little background on the story and then, if you’re interested, read it. Don’t let my review or anyone else’s review stop you. Maybe you’re the one person who falls head over heels in love with Jeremy Chikalto. If you have some spare time on your hands and you want to read a story that is totally out of this world, Jeremy Chikalto and the Hazy Souls is the book for you.

I think I might even check out book 2, Jeremy Chikalto and Leviathan Island… =]

Inquiring minds want to know...what do you think?

