Why Did You Have To End So Soon?

Day 01 – A book series you wish had gone on longer OR a book series you wish would just end already

Hey guys! So I finally decided to start my 30 Days of Books Challenge!!!!!! I found it a little daunting at first to be required to report on books everyday for thirty days and I was even more afraid that all of my answers would be…Harry Potter. Thankfully, I began to reread the questions and thoughtfully plan out how I would proceed and what my book options were and now I feel ready and prepared to begin! This might not go on every consecutive day because I will be out of town starting on the 19th and it has not yet been determined whether I can bring my computer and or have WiFi at the place I’m staying. I’ll try and keep you posted.

But now, onto the challenge! What book series do I wish had lasted longer…His Dark Materials by Philip Pullman. This series includes The Golden Compass, The Subtle Knife, and The Amber Spyglass. I remember reading this series in middle school and being totally enthralled by it. I was obsessed and captivated and loved every second I spent reading this series. I don’t remember being upset by the ending or unhappy with the way Pullman finished things, but I do wish the story could continue. Honestly looking back, all I can remember doing is crying ALOT during the last book. I think it’s definitely going to require some rereading on my part.

If you haven’t had a chance to read His Dark Materials I HIGHLY recommend you add it to your list. It may be labeled as a children’s book or young adult book but trust me, it is beyond enchanting at any age.

10 responses to “Why Did You Have To End So Soon?

    • Order Of The Phoenix. Sirius is my favorite character so needless to say I was DEVASTATED but his character got alot of attention in that book. ❤ What's your favorite?

  1. I so agree about His Dark Materials. It was so good and he could have really taken it farther. BAH. Maybe I’m just a reader upset with it finishing too soon and having to move on from that world. : ) PS. Love your fun background!

    • I completely agree. Maybe if we got enough people to write to Pullman he’d start writing a spin off. =D lol

      • That was my biggest challenge – Not to update about my favorites all the time! It was really hard LOL – but it’s also fun to find out about things you didn’t give thought to before 🙂

      • Definitely! It’s also opening my eyes to so many more books I need to read. I feel like such an experienced reader yet there is so much left to explore! I think it would be interesting to do this challenge again in a year or two and see how my answers have changed.

Inquiring minds want to know...what do you think?

