All About Me Day 7

So on to day seven, Four Books. Well I can tell you right now I’m not going to list four books. I’ll probably list four book series and they’ll probably be kinda similar, young adult, fantasy, fiction, etc. I have read a wider range of novels and genres, but these are the ones that really impacted my life and shaped me as the person I am. From this point on, JUDGEMENT FREE ZONE.

  1. Harry Potter Series by J. K. Rowling. I honestly don’t know what kind of person I would be if I had never read a Harry Potter book. More than half of my life has been shaped by the novels and the characters and the memorabilia. I began reading Harry Potter in third grade, thanks to my third grade teacher Mrs. Kent. I’ve probably read the first book upwards of twenty times and it never gets old. Almost all of the bindings of the books have broken, been re-glued, and broken again because I took those books with me everywhere and read them every chance I got. I can honestly say Harry Potter has shaped the person I am today, and I would not be me without them. When the novels of Harry Potter ended I cried for days. I couldn’t even look at the books without thinking that a piece of my childhood had just ended, forever. I had to relive that feeling for weeks after the movie franchise released Deathly Hallows pt 2. For me, this was more than just a story about a boy wizard who survived all odds, for me, these were my friends as a child, and I was being forced to say goodbye. To this day, I still have trouble finishing the last novel. I get to the last ten pages and put it back on my self, as if not finishing it will mean that it isn’t really over. 
  2. Eragon (Inheritance Series) by Christopher Paolini. I began reading Eragon in the 7th grade and just finished the last novel Inheritance a  few months ago, almost eight years later. Eragon showed me a new fantasy world and opened my eyes up to dragons and how amazing this old folk lore type fiction can be. Without Eragon, I would’ve never been so welcoming to understanding and appreciating The Lord of the Rings. Eragon’s story was a great one that I will cherish and hold dear to my heart. I’m encouraging my whole family to read it, my Uncles and cousins, because I want them to feel as close to the story and as free as I do when I read it. 
  3. The House Of Night Novels by P.C. & Kristin Cast. I don’t know what it is about this story, but I literally fell in love with each of the characters. I care so much about what happens to them and how their lives play out that I eat the novels up like candy every time a new one is released. If I had more free time, I would probably just sit around and reread this series over and over, never getting tired of it. It’s girly, and empowering, and it makes me feel like I can make a difference in my world the same way Zoey changes hers. Every character has some aspect or quality I can admire, and above all else it is a great story of friendship, and finding friends in the people you would least expect it. 
  4. The Twilight Saga by Stephenie Meyer. My reasons for this unlikely series making the list are extremely personal. These books didn’t make the list because of great storytelling, great writing, or great characters. It makes the list because I discovered these books at the right place at the right time. No matter what critics or haters will say about this novel (even if I agree with them) it will always hold and undeniable place in my heart. 

Trust me when I say this is just the tip of a humongous ice burg.  Maybe one day I’ll make a list of my favorite books, but that will be a pretty huge list. Thanks for reading and NOT JUDGING! We all have our favorites, no matter how unlikely or cliche they might be.

6 responses to “All About Me Day 7

  1. I am the same with Harry Potter. I read and read an read them, they never get old. I love Harry! I still wish I could have been his friend and gone to Hogwarts!

Inquiring minds want to know...what do you think?

